Psyched for Life

mh-nursing

Suicidal ideation. Alcohol dependence. Psychotic behavior. Mood stabilizers. Hallucinations.

These are a few words that have become completely normal in my vocabulary since I began the whirlwind of a career that is psychiatric nursing. I work at a private psychiatric hospital for adults and adolescents in Fort Worth, TX and I am certain it’s exactly where I need to be. You may think, “what? Why do you want to work in mental health when you could be saving lives in an ER or holding newborns?” I’d love to share with you. It is amazing what I’ve learned about the world in the past 9 months as a newbie nurse and how God continually molds me and challenges me through it.

In no way, shape, or form do I look down upon the work of nurses or medical professionals in other specialties. Nor do I look down upon anyone else’s work for that matter! My intention is to share with you a little bit about the uniqueness of psych, and why I do what I do.

My friends often ask me, “how’s work going? Any crazy stories?” to which I don’t know where to begin. As a nurse it is my duty to respect the confidentiality and dignity of my patients, so I don’t like to go into much detail. Also, a lot of times I’m still processing what I encountered at work the night before. Because unfortunately, even the best nursing school may not fully prepare you for how to address the needs of a young girl who habitually skips meals in an effort to be thin. Or a boy whose arm is covered in self-inflicted cuts. Or a woman who is responding to a plethora of hallucinations & delusions. Or a girl who fantasizes about the next time she will try to take her own life.

My point is, there are times when I feel completely helpless, emotionally exhausted, and in awe of the extent of the world’s brokenness and how mental illness can destroy a person. And yet, by the grace of God and the way He has wired me and equipped me for this new role, I’m simultaneously driven by the challenge of it all. I find joy in encouraging my patients as they walk through a severely difficult time, and in seeking to show them that someone cares. Someone is listening, rooting for them, and advocating for their well-being. Because nursing is so much more than passing medications and performing assessments.

I’m not merely entrusted with the care of “patients.” These are people. They are souls. They are dearly loved and have value, worth, and purpose to be lived out. Something that really hurts my heart is the stigma associated with mental illness and “psych wards.”

It is my belief that this world functions in a fallen state, prone to disease, death, and darkness. Mental illness is one of the many manifestations of this. However, we are not without hope. In one of my favorite verses, Jesus says: “look! I am making all things new” (Revelation 21: 5). The cool thing about God is how He’s actively at work in our lives and, if we allow Him to, brings us healing and peace when we have none.

I have absolutely loved gaining skills as a RN and becoming comfortable in my role—learning more medications, calling the doctors, checking labs, documenting assessments, giving injections, etc. The passion that runs deeper in my heart, however, is the beautiful opportunity I have to connect with people under my care. It is for this reason I became a nurse, and at this point in my career, I believe I am meant to be in psych. I cannot explain the gratitude I have toward God for bringing me to this point in life. It’s exciting, rewarding, and grows and stretches me in ways I wouldn’t have dreamt of.

So, hooray for all the nurses and the incredible work we have the privilege to do.

I pray that whatever you do, you’ve found purpose and joy in it. ❤

2 Comments

  1. Rebekah,
    That is a well written article and i am grateful you’ve found a profession that you can pour yourself into. Mental health is an area that needs more attention in the general population as well.
    Skip

Leave a comment